Voluntary Right to Buy

Stonewater is pleased to confirm that it is taking part in the pilot of the Voluntary Right to Buy Midlands scheme.

The Autumn 2017 Budget confirmed the Government’s intention to proceed with a large-scale regional pilot of the Voluntary Right to Buy (VRTB) scheme in the Midlands.

A pilot in the Midlands, where there is a range of different housing markets, will provide vital information to Stonewater, fellow Housing Associations and the Government before the scheme may be launched nationwide.

Stonewater are keen to play a part in exploring how elements of the VRTB scheme will operate, whilst also giving some of our Tenants an amazing opportunity to buy their home at a potentially substantial discount.

Stonewater can confirm that tenanted properties located in the following Local Authorities may be eligible to take part in the scheme, if you are unsure of which Local Authority your property falls under then you can check this easily by referring to your council tax bill:

  • Amber Valley Borough Council
  • Ashfield District Council
  • Bassetlaw District Council
  • Blaby District Council
  • Bolsover District Council
  • Boston Borough Council
  • Broxtowe Borough Council
  • Charnwood Borough Council
  • Chesterfield Borough Council
  • Corby Borough Council
  • Daventry District Council
  • Derby City Council
  • Derbyshire Dales District Council
  • East Lindsey District Council
  • East Northamptonshire Council
  • Erewash Borough Council
  • Gedling Borough Council
  • Harborough District Council
  • High Peak Borough Council
  • Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council
  • Kettering Borough Council
  • Leicester City Council
  • Lincoln – City of Lincoln Council
  • Lincolnshire
  • Mansfield District Council
  • Melton Borough Council
  • Newark and Sherwood District Council
  • Northampton Borough Council
  • North East Derbyshire District Council
  • North Kesteven District Council
  • North West Leicestershire District Council
  • Nottingham City Council
  • Oadby and Wigston Borough Council
  • Rushcliffe Borough Council
  • Rutland County Council
  • South Derbyshire District Council
  • South Holland District Council
  • South Kesteven District Council
  • South Northamptonshire Council
  • Wellingborough, Borough Council of
  • West Lindsey District Council
  • Birmingham City Council
  • Bromsgrove District Council
  • Cannock Chase District Council
  • Coventry City Council
  • Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • East Staffordshire Borough Council
  • Herefordshire Council
  • Lichfield District Council
  • Malvern Hills District Council
  • Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council
  • North Warwickshire Borough Council
  • Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council
  • Redditch Borough Council
  • Rugby Borough Council
  • Sandwell Council
  • Shropshire Council
  • Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
  • South Staffordshire Council
  • Stafford Borough Council
  • Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
  • Staffordshire Moorlands
  • Stratford-on-Avon District Council
  • Stoke-on-Trent City Council
  • Tamworth Borough Council
  • Telford and Wrekin Council
  • Walsall Council
  • Warwick District Council
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands (Met County)
  • Wolverhampton - City of Wolverhampton Council
  • Worcester City Council
  • Wychavon District Council
  • Wyre Forest District Council

In order for our tenants to be as informed as possible before taking the first step to becoming a home owner, we have created a number of guides to help you. These will run through things such as how you can check if you are eligible for the scheme, the cost of becoming a home owner, which homes Stonewater will not be able to sell and what will happen if you are offered the option to port your discount.

Your guides:

Once you have read all of the above guides the next step is for you to obtain a Unique Reference Number (URN) from the Government. Tenants must apply on the Government’s VRTB website at https://midlands.righttobuy.gov.uk to obtain a URN.

The gateway on the website is currently closed and with only limited numbers available not every applicant will be able to receive one.

An algorithm has been used by the Government to randomly allocate places on the pilot. Emails have been sent out to each entrant to inform them whether they have been successful or unsuccessful in the ballot.

Tenants must apply to Stonewater within four weeks of their receipt of the URN with a completed application form signed by all parties and including all supporting evidence.

Please note that, even if you do receive a URN, there is no guarantee you will be able to buy your home. This also depends on the eligibility of your home and its affordability to you.

All applications to Stonewater will need to be made online via https://stonewaterhomes.co.uk/voluntary-right-to-buy.

Note: We are unable to provide previous tenants with duplicate copies of their tenancy agreement to support Right to Buy, Right to Acquire or Voluntary Right to Buy applications. We are however, able to provide a reference letter which would confirm the dates of tenancy for your Stonewater home as well as the tenants who were listed there. We will charge an administration fee of £30 inc VAT for this service. To request a reference letter please call 01202 319119.

Next steps:

If you have been successful in obtaining a URN then the deadline for submitting your completed application to us has now passed. Stonewater are not able to offer any extension to this unless it is exceptional circumstances.

If you have any queries please refer to our Voluntary Right to Buy Frequently Asked Questions document.

Alternatively contact the Voluntary Right to Buy team by:

Phone: 02380 658858 option 2

Email: vrtb@stonewaterhomes.co.uk

Note: Unfortunately the Government’s ballot is now closed and Stonewater are unable to accept further applications.

View our Privacy Policy for
Voluntary Right to Buy

Remember the Government's ballot is only open from 16th August to 16th September 2018, don't delay

Featured Development
Featured Development